My FIRST eARC Review

I am honored to report that I have completed my first eARC(electronic Advanced Reader Copy). I read Until There Was You by Jessica Scott. The book will be available October 8, 2012.

As this is my first posted review, as well as my first chance to be involved with an eARC I felt some pressure (from myself) to make sure it was done well. My expectations for the book were high after reading Jessica Scott’s first release, Because of You. Overall, I give the book 4 negligee’s out of 5.

Captain Evan Loehr is strict rule follower. He has given into temptation only once a long time ago when he kissed the beautiful Captain Claire Montoya. Since then they have been at odds through two deployments and now they must work side by side training for overseas combat. Captain Claire Montoya is a strong, loyal and brave officer. Claire has worked very hard to earn her rank and sees Evan as a rigid rule follower. As the training pushes them to work together, Claire is surprised to learn that there is more to Evan than she originally thought. Evan and Claire soon find out they have more in common than they ever imagined and they share two crucial passions: their country and each other.

Jessica Scott is a soldier as well as an author. She includes a lot of military background to the story that I found interesting and a little overwhelming, as someone that has not been in the military. This story is a GREAT love story about two people that seem like opposites but actually have a lot in common. Jessica is a great author and shows great promise with both her debut book, Because of You and this one, her sophomore release. I thoroughly enjoy her description of people and the way she describes the evolution of their relationship. I only gave it 4 negligees out of 5, because of the slight confusion I felt regarding the military information. I enjoyed the seductive romance and the way it went throughout the book, not just in certain steamy scenes. Every conversation between Claire and Evan was foggy from all the steam coming off of them. Their heat and chemistry was very captivating, sadly the military scenes left me feeling a little so-so. Oddly, both their relationship and the military training scenes filled out the story well and left me wanting more. I am excited to have found this new author and look forward to continuing to read her stories in the future.

2 Comments

Filed under Contemporary Romance, Jessica Scott

Beautiful Seductions Rating System

As I begin to write more reviews of books that I am currently or have read I figured I would need to let people know a bit more about me and my personal preferences.

I am a thirty-something married Catholic woman with one child. Right now I get to stay home with my little Princess while I finish my MBA. Once I am done (December 2012) I hope to have a job outside the home in marketing and my daughter will go to Daycare/Preschool for the first time. I was raised by a single mother and at times in my life thought I was a hopeless romantic. I once heard in a movie the better term that describes me perfectly…..I am not hopeless, I am a HOPEFUL romantic. My husband and I were high school sweethearts and have been together longer than a lot of marriages last, nearly 16 years. I love Love, Romance, Beauty, Honesty, Loyalty, Books and Movies. I long for, and think I have found in my own life, the ever illusive Happily Every After (HEA).
I prefer to read contemporary romance books but have read books from all different genre’s. Over time I hope to have a long list of reviews of the books I have read as well as some posts on my favorite authors.

Here is a sample of my favorite authors (so far), and a dream list for future blog posts:

Nora Roberts (http://www.noraroberts.com/)
Suzanne Brockmann (http://www.suzannebrockmann.com/)
Marie Force (http://marieforce.com/)
Susan Andersen (http://www.susanandersen.com/)
Allison Brennan (http://www.allisonbrennan.com/)
Barbara Freethy (http://www.barbarafreethy.com/)
Bella Andre (http://www.barbarafreethy.com/)
James Patterson (Women’s Murder Club) (http://www.jamespatterson.com/)
Kate Davies (http://kate-davies.com/)
Nicholas Sparks (http://www.nicholassparks.com/)
Richard Castle (http://www.richardcastle.net/)
Sandra Brown (http://sandrabrown.net/)
Shannon Stacey (http://shannonstacey.com/)
Tori Scott (http://toriscott.blogspot.com/)
Jill Shalvis (http://jillshalvis.com/)
Jessica Scott (http://www.jessicascott.net/Welcome.html)

As I was compiling my list and ideas for my book review blog I was trying to figure out how I would rate my favorite books and future books I want to review. I decided to give a total of 5 negligee’s for my favorite books; such as, Honest Illusions by Nora Roberts would get the full 5 negligee’s. A book my husband recommended (requested) I try was book one in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. It is a fantasy style book and not my usual style, so I found it quite boring and wordy. I would give that book 1 negligee out of 5.

 

I hope this helps describe me and where I am coming from when I give a review of a book that I have read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review Blog, Contemporary Romance

Hello world!

When people recommend books or I am searching for a new one to read I usually ask is there romance in it. My favorite books have a wonderful story arc that delves into many different types of relationships, some have steamy romance and all end with a happily ever after (HEA). This is my first attempt at a blog, so please bear with me as I figure it all out.

I have several favorite authors and at least one favorite book written by each of them. This blog will have my own personal reviews of books I have read. Some will be mystery, a few will be fantasy but the majority will be romance novels.

I’m glad you found your way here. I hope you stay awhile and find some Beautiful Seductions that capture your heart.

Jen

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized